App Review: Timber Man

IMG_5834 IMG_5804 IMG_5806

I had been looking at the newest free games in the App Store for about a week before giving in and downloading Timberman. And all I can say now is… I’m so glad I did.

I’ve had the app for less than 24 hours now, and I can’t stop playing it. The app centers around chopping wood, which doesn’t sound like the most thrilling game idea ever, but ends up being more entertaining than you might expect.

You start out as the plaid-clad Timberman the game is named after, chopping wood and avoiding branches (and that nagging little red line at the top of the screen that leads, inexplicably, to your doom). At first, it seems totally simple and something you’ll just breeze by. Well, in case you hadn’t guessed from the numbers it’s getting in downloads, it’s not. It’s addictive and at times stressful when all you want to do is for your little guy to chop into that stupid red line and make it go away so you can chop wood in peace.

But as you progress, you get to change characters, ranging from Timbergirl (who I’m currently playing on) to the likes of the current POTUS (though I’m currently doubting my ability to surpass 400 on a single game here, ever). The makers of this game have effectively made it beautiful, easy to play, but just as frustrating as it needs to be in order to keep you intrigued and playing longer than you may want to admit.

Regardless, I didn’t think I’d pass 50 as of downloading it yesterday. Now I’m almost at 350, and I’m going to be chopping virtual wood until that phrase doesn’t awaken the 12-year-old boy making sexual puns in my brain. And anyone who knows me will tell you that’s going to be a long time.

Price: Free
Grade: A+

Leave a Reply

