Aural Flashback

Recently, I was listening to Sirius XM and there was a top-15 song countdown. The twist was, it wasn’t just that week’s top 15: it was juxtaposed against the songs in the same spot fourteen years before (that’s 2000 for those who haven’t had their caffeine yet). So it got me thinking about my childhood jams… and even played a few of them.

Certain artists from my childhood haven’t exactly gone away (read: Britney, JT, and, thankfully, both Destiny’s Child and The Spice Girls come back every so often). That being said, there are plenty that I listened to that got left by the wayside, and I felt like taking trip down memory lane, aural fixation style.

As a side note, how many songs did I listen to have parentheses at the end of the titles? This is unreal. I’m glad it doesn’t happen as much anymore. [Proceeds to start listening to “Habits (Stay High) by Tove Lo in protest]

So here are the top fifteen choices I’m picking out from my own childhood, but in no particular order this time. There’s plenty more where this came from… and I’m thrilled to be reliving them.


15. BBMak – Back Here
BBMak, man! So great to have them back, here, in my life. One of the top 15 I heard during my recent XM journey and a song I completely forgot existed until last weekend, Back Here was actually pretty big when I was little. I’m pretty sure it was on Now That’s What I Call Music 5, one of the greatest of the Now CDs (you know, when they were still in the reasonable numbers). I loved this song–but that’s about all I remember about it. Aside from the fact that I was so excited to hear it I downloaded it as soon as I got home.
See also: Ghost of You and Me


14. B*Witched – C’est La Vie
This song may have been one of my favorites for the majority of my childhood. B*Witched is still popular, at least within my group of friends, who all freak out whenever this song comes on someone’s iPod. I don’t blame them. I jumped on my bed and performed to this song when I was a kid, and I’m totally ready to do that all over again now. B*Witched forever.
See also: Never Giving Up


13. Dream – This Is Me
Another favorite that spanned several years, back in my girl band days. Though they were more famous for He Loves U Not (which sounds like a 90s version of the Pussycat Dolls’ “Don’t Cha”), This Is Me was my personal jam. Listening to it again now makes me really proud it was, too. I was very much into the “girl power” aspect of girl bands when I was young, and this was definitely one of those songs that helped me get into my independent, I-am-my-own-person attitude. Can’t say that’s gone away.
See also: He Loves U Not


12. 3LW – Playas Gon’ Play
SOMEONE ELSE PLEASE TELL ME THEY REMEMBER 3LW. I loved them, so much. They may have been my first foray into R&B as a kid, and I’m so glad they were. Though, granted, I had no idea what this song was about at the time. I still remember every word to this song. No regrets. Haters gon’ hate.
See also: No More (Baby I’ma Do Right)


11. A*Teens – Bouncing Off the Ceiling (Upside Down)
I was in love with the A*Teens. Part of me still is. I listened to “Teen Spirit” so much I remember all of the songs. Every. Single. One. Watching the video to Upside Down makes me laugh because of how 90s it is, but it also makes me want to dance around the hall like an idiot, shouting this song and thinking about my future marriage to Dhani (the blonde guy). A*Teens were also, of course, the way I started listening to ABBA. So there’s that.
See also: Halfway Around the World


10. Missy Elliott – Get Ur Freak On
I have to admit it, I loved this song. I had no idea what it was about. Absolutely none. But that didn’t stop it from being the theme song to one of the Beanie Baby movies I made. (Yes, I made movies of my Beanie Baby stories, and yes, they had theme songs from the Now! CDs). I don’t even care, because Missy Elliott remains one of my favorite rappers ever. Someone want to tell me where she went?! I’ve been waiting for her new CD since January of 2010…
See also: Lose Control


9. 98 Degrees – Give Me Just One Night (Una Noche)
I just freaked out upon remembering this song. This song will forever be perfect to me. As will my version of going on dates with either Lachey brother, spawned from this song. Which Nick was quickly cut out of after the whole Jessica Simpson debacle. When they came back for their 2013 CD, however… give me a minute here.
See also: The Way You Want Me To


8. Aaron Carter – Aaron’s Party (Come Get It)
If you think I haven’t been listening to this on repeat since I rediscovered it a year ago, you’re a fool. Also, remember when the biggest piece of celebrity gossip was whether Aaron was dating Lindsay or Hilary? I do. That is all.
See also: I Want Candy


7. Hoku – How Do I Feel (Burrito Song)
How do I feel now that I remember this song exists? Pretty damn awesome. Though Perfect Day was definitely her most popular song (thanks, Legally Blonde. No, really, thank you), Hoku was my two-hit-wonder princess who I jammed to for the appropriate amount of time during my Legally Blonde phase. Which lasted a while. Probably much longer than an ‘appropriate’ time. Screw it, I wanted to be Hoku and I am not ashamed of that.
See also: Another Dumb Blonde


6. Nine Days – Absolutely (Story of a Girl)
This is the story of a girl, who listened to this song so many times she never got to any more of Nine Days’ music. That doesn’t mean I entirely regret that, because this song still brings be right back to 2000, which was apparently a really great year for music, at least for me. (And, on much-later reflection, Nine Days had some pretty awesome other music).
See also: If I Am 


5. Smash Mouth – All Star
I remember this song exclusively in relation to second-grade, around when it came out and we had it as our grade’s song for our gymnastics show. I don’t think any of us realized the specifics of the song, but it was the first “parental advisory” CD for many of us, and Smash Mouth continues to hold a special place in my heart.
See also: I’m a Believer


4. Train – Drops of Jupiter
I actually started liking this song at the same time as my sister, so this song does partially remind me of how much I wanted to be my older sister when I was younger. Well, now I’m thoroughly happy being myself, but I’m still going to be utterly confused and yet in love with this song, to this day.
See also: Meet Virginia


3. Lou Bega – Mambo No. 5 (A Little Bit Of…)
This song crossed my radar at the same time as the previous song (and for the same reason), but it still stuck. It’s another jam that I bring out at sorority parties that makes all of my friends go nuts, especially when one of their names comes up and we all go bonkers. Such a great song. And damn, Lou, you had a lot of ladies.
See also: Tricky, Tricky


2. Mandy Moore – Candy
I love Mandy Moore, and I always will love Mandy Moore. I lived and breathed her music, and wanted to be her (and still kind of do, let’s be real). It’s pretty hard for me to choose between which was my favorite song, because I could pretty much list the entire “So Real” CD as evidence of my love for her. And then she became a Disney Princess. Even her playing the enemy in Princess Diaries didn’t stop me from loving her.
See also: I Wanna Be With You


1. Avril Lavigne – Sk8er Boi
All I wanted when I was (about) 10 was to be Avril Lavigne. That was my grunge phase, I guess, which literally consisted of me going to her concert and wearing baseball hats backwards. But her debut album really marked a change in my life, and an expansion of my love for pure pop music into a wider and, perhaps, darker expanse of music. Meeting her briefly at her concert was one of the highlights of my childhood, even though all I remember is that she was super shy and unbelievably shorter than I imagined. Everything else aside, Avril was the push I had into middle-school-age life and music, and I owe a lot to her music, if not for any other reason than getting me through my transition into teenage hood.
See also: I’m With You

 

What did you listen to during your own childhood that you’d like to bring back? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

