Singular Entertainment

Perhaps I should stop trying to come up with clever names of posts and just go with the more direct, which would, in this case, be something along the lines of “Singles That I Can’t Stop Listening To And Are Probably Bothering The Hell Out Of My Family Right Now Because I Listen To Them So Much”.

So, continuing in the vein of musical posts this week, here goes: some songs, new and old alike, that I am currently hooked on. And, please, tell me about songs you’re currently listening to. I’m always on the hunt for new music to get stuck in my head.

Chandelier Sia

I am officially on the Sia train. She can do no wrong. If you haven’t heard of her before, just think of her as the brilliant woman who is responsible for all those lyrics you can’t get out of your head, from Beyonce’s “Pretty Hurts” to Rita Ora’s “Radioactive”. Chandelier is no exception– it’s on repeat right now and is a summer party anthem if I ever heard one.

Go Deeper: Titanium (with David Guetta), Breathe Me

Beating Hearts King Charles

The best I can do to describe King Charles is by saying he is glorious and all that I ever needed in my life. This song constantly keeps popping up in my head, which I have no problem with, except for those moments when I actually wake up singing the song and don’t immediately remember what it is. (Yes, I do occasionally wake up with songs stuck in my head). Somewhat similar in sound to Mumford & Sons but with less banjo, King Charles is the king of my playlist right now.

Go Deeper: Love Lust, The Brightest Lights

Wolf First Aid Kit
[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Czj7SyPNRto]

There are a few First Aid Kit songs I can’t get out of my head. They’re a Swedish band that sings Americana-style music, and I love them, despite the fact that I have never been a huge found of America Americana. But two Swedish women with impeccable voices and a talent for writing amazing songs? That I can get behind.

Go Deeper: My Silver Lining, The Lion’s Roar

Warm Water Banks

I’m not going to lie, I only just downloaded this song, but then I pre-downloaded the new album she’s coming out with. And the single that has two songs… luckily I’ve stopped there. Mostly because I can’t find anything more. My buying-music addiction aside, Banks’ voice is gorgeously chill, and haunting in the perfect lying-on-the-beach sort of way. Though in my case it’s far more likely that I’d be lying in bed or on a friend’s porch. And there would be a cold beer involved. Now we’re talking.

Go Deeper: Goddess, Fall Over

Ultraviolence Lana Del Rey

Though my love for Lana has come recently, it’s pretty strong. I haven’t gone and downloaded all of her music yet (though, knowing me, that’s soon to come), but what I do know of her is that she has a very distinctive, almost sleepy voice that you need to hear to believe, and her vocal game is unstoppable. Gangster Nancy Sinatra, indeed.

Go Deeper: Summertime Sadness, Ride

Rolex Sweep Skepta
[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnar90VEwe4]

This is an old one for me. I discovered it years ago, only to realize recently that I had never actually downloaded it onto my new computer. Needless to say, I am thrilled it’s back and will never tire of this song. If you needed any introduction into UK rap, or, to be more precise, UK grime, Skepta’s your man. Though I’m sure there will be people who disagree with me there… I still love Skepta. And this song will forever be my favorite.

Go Deeper: King of Grime, Rescue Me

Leave a Reply

