Game Time! + Two Dots App Review

I FINALLY DID IT. I DEFEATED 2048.

IMG_5124 IMG_5125 IMG_5129

And, as you can tell from the above, I kept going.

I didn’t even think there WAS a way to continue. I thought it ended at 2048.

Obviously, I was wrong. And the strangest thing about it? I’m still playing the game. Now that it happened once, I know I can get there again. I’m working towards that ridiculous 4096 tile.

Is this because I’m addicted to the game? I love the idea of winning? I’m simply unable to move past this game and live life the way it was before I had 2048?

I think the answer lies in what I’m calling “the addiction factor“.

For me, the addiction factor is what I find in games I can’t stop playing. It’s also in certain beats we listen to all the time (there’s science behind that), and certain foods we eat. It has to do with the satisfaction and pleasure we get out of whatever action we complete and repeat, but for game apps, there’s something else to it. Game addiction factor, especially in my recent memory, lies within a desire to defeat the game and the high of accomplishment, but also within the simplicity of a game: its ease of use. The graphic design and simple, straightforward gameplay offers an easy way to pass the time that you in– and soon that ease becomes a way to stave off boredom, and then habit.

2048 was an early example of this, especially for me, at least within the past year. It’s also a common element I’ve noticed is necessary in most of the iPhone games I’ve been finding in the App Store recently: in order to maintain even a limited top spot, the game needs to be addictive in some capacity. I found it recently with 2048, 100 Balls, and previously in the likes of Candy Crush and Fruit Ninja. I’m still finding it, in plenty of things I download. And I don’t think that the trend is going to stop.

That all being said (and probably not read by many), my new addiction is Two Dots, the frustratingly amazing game that emerged on the heels of its similarly gorgeous predecessor, Dots. (I’m sensing a theme here, which I hope leads to Three Dots in the future, whatever that might be).

IMG_5134  IMG_5135 IMG_5131

The premise is somewhat familiar: connect the dots. Seriously, that’s it. But you have goals here, like getting as many of certain colors or, in later levels, sinking anchors, escaping the rapidly multiplying fire or breaking ice. But as much as I would love to just chuck my phone sometimes out of frustration, the game fundamentally relies on the addiction factor as well.

Beautifully crafted like Dots before it, Two Dots allows you to connect all dots of the same color in a line– as long as they’re not diagonal from each other and they’re the same color, they can connect. Hint: SQUARES ARE YOUR SAVIOR. Many of the levels require sheer perseverence and luck, but the satisfaction you get after defeating a particularly difficult level (level 84, I’m looking at you) is staggering. That, and, well, its pretty damn addictive.

Price: Free
Grade: A+

Leave a Reply

