Link Drop: 23/6/14

It’s been forever since I did one of these, so I think calling it “The Weekly” is more than a misnomer, it’s simply false advertising. But here are a few things I’ve found over the past eon since I last did this.

theweekly

A cat’s owner has decided to insert Zarathustra, her cat, into famous paintings, and I wouldn’t even hesitate to say that they are new masterpieces.

Along those lines, here’s the most chill cat you will ever see. (And yes, he really does just sit there for two minutes).

It’s wedding season, and the Everygirl’s now-long-past wedding week is over, but that doesn’t mean you can’t keep up with their guide to planning a wedding within a reasonable timeline.

Though I have a few more months before I have to dive into the working world myself, Buzzfeed’s guide to starter jobs as a twentysomething exudes sensibility and offers wise advice to those not entirely ready for the “real world”.

MY CHILDHOOD IS RETURNING.

This potentially triggering and slightly NSFW French video shows what it’s like to be a woman in daily life— by reversing the roles of men and women.

There’s an updated version of the Rejection Hotline, and my middle school self is rejoicing.

The latest in wearables offers up another fashion-forward way to go about daily life and still keep up with your social media and email: a ring that vibrates in various ways to alert you to different happenings in your online life. Oh, and the preorder is far cheaper than it will be in the future.

I found another reason to exercise.

I hate that people like this exist, but if any good comes from opinions like this, I hope it will be a real conversation about rape in this country and that victims will find strength to speak out against disgusting opinions such as this reporter’s.

Feeling old? Just look at this mind-blowing website. (Fun fact: I was born closer to the moon landing than to today).

In addition, I want to offer a small PSA: you should visit Words By Nicole Froio. An old friend from my time in Oxford, Nicole has has a steady and brilliant blog that is beyond worth a simple check. She is thoughtful, intelligent, and doesn’t shy away from difficult topics, and I truly believe she is an exceptional journalist. Something she’s currently working on Beyond The Sex & Sunshine, a campaign to show off Brazil as, well, a country that goes beyond the sexualisation of women and the party landscape for which it is famous. And that doesn’t even cover all of it. I encourage anyone who reads this to even donate $5 to her campaign, or at least spread the word.

Watch Nicole talk about the campaign below.
[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0IdoK4o8qew&feature=youtu.be]

Posted in: WWW

Leave a Reply

