Songs of Summer

Hello, my name is Caroline, and I am, for all intents and purposes, a music addict.

Music has always been an integral part of my life and it’s something I am unable to go a single day without. If I’m not listening to something on iTunes or XM, I’m probably writing songs or randomly singing to myself. (My friends will attest to the latter).

In that spirit, I feel I need to write another music post… about what I’ve been listening to recently.

lo-fang-blue-filmLo-Fang – Blue Film
Alternative Folk
Favorites: When We’re Fire, Confusing Happiness

I may just be in love with Lo-Fang’s music. I can’t think of a category in which it fits into, genre-wise, hence the rather confusing genre I labeled it with. But Matthew Hemerlein, the singer, is brilliant. His voice is haunting and full of a sort of emotive knowledge that breathes into his songs. Poetry aside, I can’t stop listening to this album. He’s been touring with Lorde, and I can’t wait to see him… whenever and wherever I can. I can’t wait to hear more from him. It was also really hard for me to only choose two favorite songs.

sohn-tremors-packshotSOHN – Tremors
Electronic Soul
Favorites: Tempest, The Wheel

Another album I can’t stop listening to, Tremors also comes with one of the most beautifully crafted album covers I’ve seen. Design fangirling aside, SOHN has triply electronic melodies, but also comes with simple but gripping lyrics that I can’t get out of my head. His voice does have a very soulful quality to it, and the songs range from beats that are workout-worthy to echoing sentiments that, even amongst heavy synth, remain calming at their core.

Lily-Allen-Sheezus-Bonus-Track-Version-2014-1200x1200Lily Allen – Sheezus
Pop
Favorites: Hard Out Here, Sheezus

I’m a sucker for Lily Allen. I discovered her first album in Starbucks when I was still in middle school, and was immediately hooked. This is her third album, and I couldn’t be more pleased with it. You may have heard already about the controversy surrounding her Hard Out Here video dancers, but Lily Allen responded in her typical “you can think whatever you want, but I don’t give a shit” attitude. Lily Allen is always one to rely on for infectious pop songs and her honest, no-holds barred persona, and I will always love her for it. Besides, as implied in her defense of the aforementioned video, who is she to turn away women who can dance well and with confidence? Certainly not Sheezus.

visiterThe Dodos – Visiter
Soft Rock
Favorites: God?, Jodi

Yes, this album is from 2008, but I can’t stop listening to it. After discovering the band when the more recent album, Carrier, came out (more about that one below), I listened to this CD as well and instantly downloaded it. This album has a somewhat lighthearted tone to it, but with spectacular drum and guitar work that will leave you– or, at least, left me– breathless. I honestly have about five different favorite songs from this album alone. The Dodos rock, pure and simple.

74ca4ad1The Dodos – Carrier
Soft Rock
FavoritesTransformer, Stranger

Yeah, I’m on a Dodos binge. This album has a darker tone than the earlier album, but still offers up terrific songs that maintain the band’s brilliant run. It’s a bit more haunting on certain numbers, considering this also came in the wake of the former drummer’s death, but the work is still transformative (pun somewhat intended) and beautiful. I have definitely listened to this album while going to sleep, but more often than not I listen to the the brilliant guitar solos and imagine the album as my life soundtrack.

Images via 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Leave a Reply

