What’s In the Box?!

IMG_6288

I just made a fantastic discovery. It’s called RocksBox, and it is absolutely perfect for me. It is a $20/month box shipped to your home that gives you jewelry that suits your style. You wear the pieces for a month, and if you love them, you buy them. Otherwise, you send them back to receive new gorgeous pieces for the next month. (I have a feeling I’m going to be buying more of them than sending them back…) If you don’t like what you get, you send it back and they send you something new.

The best part? My first box just came in the mail. Here’s my first haul:


IMG_6296 IMG_6292 IMG_6294
(L to R: Gorjana necklace, House of Harlow bangle, Matterial Fix earrings)

I think I’ve definitely made the right decision. The stylist who put my box together actually included the Gorjana Greer necklace I’d favorited to demonstrate my style personality as I signed up, so it’s lovely to be able to actually try one of the things that drew me to the website! It’s more delicate than I’m used to wearing these days, but it’s a beautiful shape and I adore the piece. The bangle suits my style and matches one of my favorite bangles (see below) perfectly. The earrings are more floral than I’m used to, but I’m excited to try them with some outfits to get a good feel for them.

IMG_6301 IMG_6303
(Kate Spade idiom bangle, similar).

Similar to BirchBox, which has been taking the world (or at least my friend circle) by storm, RocksBox is a monthly service catered to personalized interest. And, as I’m sure you all know, they’re not the only two subscription boxes out there. In fact, there are so many I can’t keep track of them all. But I have found some interesting ones I have heard good things about so you can get an idea of the range of things out there. Note, however, that very few of them are going to be as good a deal as the likes of BirchBox ($10/month).

Here are a few I find interesting:

BarkBox ($29+/month) – I’m sure you’ve heard of this one. But for those of you who haven’t, BarkBox offers you monthly goodies… for your dog! You choose the size of your dog and proceed from there. For anyone who’s willing to splurge a bit on their dogs, this is definitely a good one to get. I’m hoping to get one for Gatsby soon! C, P, S (continental US only)

ConsciousBox ($7+/month) – A lot of my friends get this one, and love it. Offering natural alternatives to things you use in your day-to-day life, this is a great way to go au naturel. They also support fair trade, so you can feel even better about what you’re getting. This is basically the natural equivalent to BirchBox (and can be even cheaper). Plus it often comes with snacks that can suit stricter dietary concerns, offering GF and vegan options.  C, D, P, S

HelloFlo ($20+/month) – Remember that ad? Yeah, this is what it’s for. Basically, every month, like clockwork (more predictably than what it’s for, at least), you get this box in the mail and it’ll keep you ready for that usually-annoying-and-often-evil visit from, well, “Aunt Flo”. (I can’t believe I just typed that). Each box gets you tampons/pads and snacks. Also offers a $35 “starter period kit” for anyone who’s just started their journey. C, D, P, S

Julep Maven ($25/month) – I’ve already tried this one. If you love nail polish as much as I do (which is a lot), I’d definitely give this one a try. They give you your first box free, and you can personalize what you get to your preferences in beauty products. Plans range from having a mix of nail polish and beauty products to having either all nail polish of all full-sized beauty products. C, P, S

Nerd Block ($14+/month) – There’s a bit of nerd in all of us. There’s certainly one in me. But before it explodes out of me Alien-style, I think it could be easily tamed by the Nerd Block box that caters to the geek in all of us. In the “typical” box, which is $19/month, you get a bunch of fun toys and things just for your inner nerd. Plus a T-shirt. It’s like ThinkGeek in a monthly box! D

My Ireland Box ($42/month) – A bit on the pricey side, but offers a monthly box of craft Irish goodies straight from Eire. For anyone who loves Ireland or misses the Emerald Isle, I’d say this is a small price to pay to feel like you’re there. I’m definitely tempted to try it for a few months. I can only hope you get some peat with your first box… P

OliveBox ($25/month) – For anyone who loves paper goods, this is for you. With a variety of cards and memo pads and various other lifestyle products, OliveBox comes to you monthly with a different theme. There will be things like cards in there, but also some various other little trinkets to make the crafty side of you smile. I can’t wait to get one! Card boxes are also available if all you want is more cards in your life. S

PopSugar MustHave Box ($40/month) – I cannot wait to sign up for this one. Again on the pricey side, but soooo tempting… especially when you factor in that you’re getting full-size products. This box is filled with, you guessed it, “must haves”. PopSugar has filtered through all of the suggestions they get and choose the best of the best to deliver to your doorstep. Plus, you curate your preferences to help tailor the experience to you. C, S

SkoshBox ($12/month) – After taking Japanese for five years, all I can say about this box is YES NOW THANK YOU PLEASE. For those who haven’t tasted the deliciousness that are Japanese snacks, I introduce you to something you should at least try for a month: a box filled with Japanese goodies, ranging from traditional snacks to the craziest of the crazy candies they have. Can this just be the new normal? Here’s to all Pocky, all the time. D, P, S

SockPanda ($11/month) – Confession: I keep losing my socks. I know this is common, but I swear the laundry eats at least one of mine every time. As a result, I only wear hiking socks now. But as those are starting to disappear too, I’m going to have to get more. Enter SockPanda, the savior of anyone who has a similar problem. Or whoever just loves socks. Dumbledore’s dream. C, D, S

Try the World ($45/2 months) – Though it’s definitely on the expensive side, this intrigues me. As a self-proclaimed world traveler, I love the idea of getting a box with fun stuff from a different country every month. You get to choose your first box, and discover more countries along the way. C, S (continental US only)

Guide: C customizable deal ($20 or less) prepaid plans available free shipping

IMG_6289

Leave a Reply

