Word Up

I’m starting something else new: a word of the week.

As an English major, I deal with a lot of “fancy” words, and I also am a sucker for discovering new, awesome words to expand my vocabulary even more and perhaps, someday, be able to communicate in the same way my professors at school do.

So for my first run at this, I give you one of my favorite words of all time:

 

Halcyon

(adj).
1. calm; peaceful; tranquil
2. rich; wealthy; prosperous
3. happy; joyful; carefree

(definition via)

 

I discovered “halcyon” when I was about 7 when I was, per usual, writing a story. I decided I wanted a cool name for the kingdom I was creating, so I looked up “golden” in a thesaurus and found “halcyon” as a synonym. Ever since, it’s been one of my favorite words. It also apparently refers to a kingfisher-like mythical bird, which makes it that much cooler a word.

So there you go! I’ll try to make this fancier looking in the future. Hope your Monday was far more halcyon than you may have anticipated. (Note: nice, strong coffee or tea in the morning helps, just in case you haven’t tried that yet.)

Have a great week, y’all!

Leave a Reply

