What’s In The Bag?

While this may be an odd thing to think anyone would ever want to know, I thought I’d post an insight into my purse (which, I guess, in turn, offers insight into me). Regardless, I realised this would actually help me sort out what’s going on in my brain… or, more likely, to realise how much I need to clean my purse.
So here’s what’s up in there.

c400x475

The purse itself is something I lusted after for years and finally got as a high school graduation present. So, now, after spending my teenage years going around with no particular bag to take with me everywhere, I had my stuff scattered in way too many places. Now I have this one, and even as the small size, it’s big enough for me to carry around my usual not-really-a-mom-but-might-as-well-be pharmacy. I’m never going back.
The hat is actually a beanie I got at the Speight’s brewery in Dunedin, New Zealand. It’s the one hat I regularly wear, often just because I just want to feel close to NZ again.
The rollerball and lipstick are pretty much the only loose makeup things I carry around in there. My makeup bag is bigger, but not by much. (Maybe I’ll cover that some other time). Yay on the go touchups! Or ways to make myself feel better about having just eaten a giant pizza by myself before I’m dragged out of bed and away from Netflix.
The drink is, well, a drink. It’s Sparkling Ice Strawberry Lemonade, which is one of the various Sparkling Ice Lemonades I’ve become obsessed with recently. They’re so happy and refreshing and delicious and good as mixers and refreshing. And I usually realise I need a water bottle way too late, so, I’m trying to just shove an unopened bottle in my bag until I need it.
The watch? Actually my watch, given to me by my sister for my birthday two years ago. And usually at the bottom of my purse, especially if I’m going through airport security. And the earrings, while not a pair I own (though I REALLY want to, I mean look at them), demonstrate just how many earrings I’ve lost to the bottom of my purse after a night downtown with my friends. Luckily, I haven’t lost any in there yet. Knock on wood.
My camera is something I ALWAYS have with me. That’s all you need to know about it. It’s my baby and I use it constantly. Similarly, I always have a lighter (though not one as fancy as the zippo) just because, well, you never know if you need one. Especially if you’re in the middle of the woods and your phone flashlight dies and you were stupid enough to not bring a real flashlight. (As someone this has happened to, I stand by this statement).
As for the magazine and the book… well, I’m always reading magazines. And any travel magazine I can get my hands on (especially one like Afar, which I absolutely adore and not-so-secretly would love to work for) are always up there on my list. I’ve been meaning to read Infinite Jest for years, and finally bought it, but because of university I’m still on page 8. Too much work. And too little brain capacity to deal with the brilliance of DFW unless I have a lot of time to devote to him.
So, that’s it! Enjoy this random insight into my life. And clean your bag. You’ll thank me later.
Leave a Reply

